The staff and pupils of St. Louis GNS are very proud to announce that we have secured the status of a Health Promoting School. In a special ceremony held on Friday last, June 16th the school community gathered in the hall for an assembly organised by the Health Promoting Schools’ Committee. In attendance were members of the Board of Management, the Parents’ Association and Ms. Monica McCrory, Health Promoting Schools’ Coordinator with the HSE.

Two former members of the Committee were also in attendance, Grania Curran and Gabija Ragaliauskaite, who are now at secondary school. Special guest of honour was Ms. Cathy McKenna, past-pupil of St. Louis GNS and winner of the Great Irish Bake-Off 2016. Cathy was invited by the committee to raise the Health Promoting Schools’ Flag as she has made an enormous contribution towards the promotion of healthy eating among the pupils. Cathy was present last year for the launch of the school’s Healthy Eating Policy and her delicious healthy recipes have been published in our monthly newsletters and on the website. School Principal, Ms Bernie Farrell welcomed all present and thanked the committee, in particular, Ms. Róisín Treanor and Ms. Anne Brady, the two teachers who have steered this project, for their tireless work and commitment over the past two years. The committee members gave an account of the steps involved in the school’s journey towards achieving the flag, including the organisation of a Positive Mental Health Week, mindfulness and a Friendship Week.

Then everyone gathered on the front lawn to watch Cathy raise the yellow and white flag to a chorus of rousing cheers and a rendition of the “Friends Medley” from all the pupils. Monica McCrory presented a framed copy of the Health Promoting Schools’ Certificate to Róisín Treanor and Anne Brady, thanking them, the committee and the whole school community for embracing the initiative. Refreshments were served afterwards to the adults in the staffroom, while the children got a lovely healthy treat in their classrooms, followed by a disco in the school yard. The school is very grateful to the management and staff of Tesco, Monaghan, for sponsoring a mouth-watering array of fruit and vegetables for the occasion.

The HPS Committee members are: pupils Kelly Croarkin, Orlaith McNally, Rhiain Ronaghan, Hannah Pourani, Daisy Walker, Amina Gecaite and Leah Ward; and two parent reps, Fiona O’Gara and Margaret McCullough.