A new committee was elected in September 2015 and its main aim for this school year is to work towards the renewal of our Active Flag in June 2016.

Committee members are: 2nd class: Lauren Ward & Vilte Zakarauskaite

3rd class: Aoife Connolly & Aoife Fitzgerald

4th class: Hannah Sheridan & Toma Zukauskaite

5th class: Caitlin Finnegan & Chloe Mc Kenna Bell

6th class:Tabatunzie Alexis & Ciona Barry

The student committee members are working with Mrs. Hannon to promote playground games. They leave out hula- hoops and Giant Connect-4 games in the yard everyday and they have circulated a list of playground games to every class to learn and practise during their P.E. lessons.

Mrs Hannon ran a very successful hula-hoop competition for all classes during the months of February and March. The standard was so high that it was extremely difficult to select winners. After much “hooping ” the following girls (pictured below) were chosen: Gloria Marut, Elizabete Sermolite, Niamh Mc Elwain, Enrika Sulcaite, Aoibheann Mc Ginnity, Katherine Vaisnoraite, Klara Kovalovsky-Kiaurakyte, Kellie McCarron, Megan Prunty, and Neda Ivanauskaite

The adult committee are organising a series of Active Days to be run over the coming months. These will be facilitated by Miss McNally.

The first Active Day was held on Tuesday 16th February and because of inclement weather, was concluded on Wednesday 17th. Ms McNally took each class to the yard for a half- hour activity lesson which included aerobic warm-ups and an obstacle course.