Green Schools

Green Schools Committee 2016/17

Our new Green Schools' Committee has been elected. The members have met with Ms Brady and Mrs Treanor and have been assigned their jobs on a rotational basis. We are continuing to maintain our recycling and energy flags this year and hope to begin work on our water flag in 2017/18. Committee members include: Katie Mc Mahon, Wiktoria Obara, Jasmine Coyle, Maheen Mohsin, Aiste Ruchlevicuite, Eadaoin Mc Corry, Jessie Cleary Keenan, Emma Mc Cann, Alanna Mc Kenna, Aoife Devlin, Niamh Mc Elwain, Mia Butaviciute, Millie Rose Cleary, Alanna Myers, Alanna Mc Kenna, Jagoda Skiba, Jessica Leane, Evelina Markauskaite, Orla Sherry and Klara Kovalovsky-Kiaurakyte.

Green Sch-2016

Green Schools' Committee 2015/16

Pictured below are the members of our current Green Schools' Committee. These girls work hard to help retain our recycling and energy flags. On a rota basis they empty the recycling and compost bins throughout the school. They are very vigilant and quick to point out if pupils and members of staff are putting their litter in the wrong bin! They also remind us to conserve energy by switching off lights and computers. 

The committee members are: 2nd Class: Emma McCann, Aiste Ruchleviciute, Eadaoin McCorry & Jessie Cleary Keenan. 3rd Class: Niamh McElwain, Mia Butaviciute (missing from photo), Alanna McKenna & Aoife Devlin.

4th Class: Alanah McKenna, Jagoda Skiba, Millie Rose Cleary Keenan & Alannah Myers.

5th Class: Orla Sherry, Klara Kovalosky (missing from photo), Jessica Leane & Evelina Markauskaite.

6th  Class: Lauren Sweeney, Alecsia Popa, Gabija Viscokyte &Alicia Nmezi.


Green Schools' Drama Workshop
On Thursday 28th January, Mrs Treanor's 3rd and 4th class took part in a half-day drama workshop entitled "Environment, The Musical". The workshop, facilitated by Annette Mc Nelis of Monaghan County Council, was based on the theme of" Litter" and was aimed at encouraging children to be more environmentally aware. The girls learned some very catchy songs, written by Annette herself, which they performed for the whole school on the following Monday.

















 Raising our Recycling Flag





Friday 11th June 2010 was a proud day in St. Louis G.N.S. At an early morning ceremony, held on the front lawn, the newly-elected Monaghan Rose and former St. Louis' pupil, Noelle Clerkin, hoisted our first Green Flag.The flag was awarded by An Taisce in recognition of the effort being made in the school to reduce and minimise the amount of waste we send to landfill.


The ceremony was attended by members of the B.O.M., the Parents' Association, Mr. Niall O'Connor, Monaghan County Council's Environmental Officer, Mrs. Anna-Mai Rooney, School Principal and all the staff and pupils of the school. Mr. Hugh Doherty,B.O.M. acted as M.C. during the proceedings, deputising for Mr. Packie McAdam, Chairman of the B.O.M. who was unable to attend.


Green SchoolsIn their speeches, Mr. Doherty, Mr. O'Connor and Mrs. Rooney all paid tribute to the hard work and enthusiasm of the Green Schools' Committee, guided and led by Ms. Anne Brady and Mrs. Róisin Treanor. Sincere thanks was also expressed to Mrs. Rose Murray and Mr. Jim Corrigan, Caretaker, for all their help. Some members of the committee outlined the work they have been doing over the past fourteen months, which has involved the support and participation of all the pupils in our school.



In May '09 we held a competition among the pupils to see who could come up with the best slogan/motto that we could use as our Green Schools' Code. The winners were Shauna Hetherington, Rang 6 and Lucy Loughran Rang 3 for these verses:


The Green Flag is our aim

So come on all you St. Louis Girls

Work as a team and be so very cool

And bring The Green Flag to our school!


Green SchoolsLouis school was full of litter

I would like it to sparkle like glitter

To be like that we have to stop

The bins are now about to pop

Everyone needs to do their bit

Recycling isn't so hard.....TRY IT!!!


The Green Schools' Committee comprises representatives from each class. These reps report back to their classes and so help to keep all the children informed as to what plans the committee have and what tasks they are undertaking. The original committee members, who worked on the first Green Flag, are pictured below. These were: 6th Class: Jessica Connolly, Eimear O'Rourke (secretaries), Kate Doherty, Ciara Murray, Tyler Kivlehan. 5th class: Kate Aughey, Éadaoin Lavery, Clare McEnaney, Laura-Louise Reay. 4th class: Ciara Veale, Kate Dwyer, Mollie Murphy, Simone Clerkin.3rd Class: Abbie Woods, Jessica Murray, Molly Maguire, Muireann Harraghy. 2nd Class: Maria Mc Nally and Caoimhe O'Hanlon


Latest News

Charity Halloween Dress-Up Day   Pictured above are the two youngest members of our Student Council, Siomha and Alisija, making a presentation of a cheque for €450 to Collette Mc Entee, Fundraising Executive with the National Council for the Blind, Ireland. Also in... Read more
Positive Mental Health Day 2017 Thursday 26th October was Positive Mental Health Day in St. Louis GNS. All classes took part in a variety of activities to help boost mood and self-esteem, including: walk and talk trails, mindfulness sessions led by 6th class pupil, Hannah... Read more
Maths Week 2017 Maths Week this year ran from Monday 16th to Friday 20th of October. All classes took part in a variety of Maths-related activities, including a Maths Challenge Competition and Maths Trails for junior and senior classes. The winners of the ... Read more
Launch of Tradoodle St. Louis Infant School hosted the launch of Monaghan's first ever Arts Festival for Children on Friday, 20th October. Mrs Carmel Mc Carroll, Principal, welcomed all the invited guests, including the Artistic Director of the festival, Mr Th... Read more
Bike Week Art Competition Winner     Pictured left is Emma, 4th class, receiving an award for a poster that she entered in the National Bike Week Art Competition which was held last June. Representatives from Monaghan County Council and the Road Safety Author... Read more
Walk the Beat   During the first week of October, some of our classes visited the museum to see an exhibition called "The Watchmen." They learned about policing, crime and punishment in Monaghan.They discovered that long ago, if children misbehav... Read more
Culture Night Celebrations in the Museum On September 22nd, to celebrate Culture Night, some of our classes attended an exhibition on Japanese culture in Monaghan County Museum. The girls were treated to a showcase of the martial art "Kendo" and learned some rules and terms. Nex... Read more
Summer Reading Challenge 2017 Pictured above are some of our pupils who took part in Monaghan County Library's Summer Reading Challenge: Maggie, Clodagh, Karla, Anora, Eimear, Ava, Bella, Alanah, Wiktoria, Noor and Neeharika.The girls were awarded medals and certifica... Read more
Attendance Awards 2017 At the end of the Student Council Assembly, our Family-School Liaison Officer, David McCague, presented the Annual Attendance Awards. Two girls, Hazel & Jessica received certificates for improved attendance, while 17 gi... Read more